Bookmark and Share


Business | Visitor | Text Only | Contact Us

Home > Town Hall > Departments > Planning & Regulatory Services Department
> Planning Division
Print this page Print this page

Streams and Rivers

Watershed BoundariesThe Town of Richmond Hill contains the headwaters and tributaries of three watershed systems, the Humber River, Rouge River and Don River.

A watershed is the land area that drains water to a particular stream, river, or lake. It is a land feature that can be identified by tracing a line along the highest elevations between two areas on a map, often a ridge.

The East Humber subwatershed begins on the Oak Ridges Moraine, in the kettle lakes of St. George and Wilcox in the north end of Richmond Hill. The portion of Richmond Hill within the Humber watershed also contains the Town's widest variety of wildlife, as it is home to a diverse array of amphibians, birds and fish.

The Upper East Don subwatershed of the Don River runs down the west side of the Town encompassing mainly older portions of settlement in Richmond Hill.

The Rouge River watershed covers the largest section of Richmond Hill with both headwaters and middle reach areas of the West Rouge Tributary and Beaver Creek Tributary. The Jefferson Forest and its well known Species at Risk -- the Jefferson Salamander -- are possibly the most significant features within this watershed.


Town of Richmond Hill
Contact Us Departments Disclaimer Privacy Click for more information on the Town's Character Community initiative
Town of Richmond Hill
Get Flash Player
Town of Richmond Hill
Get Adobe Reader
Town of Richmond Hill Search by Google Town of Richmond Hill

Contact Us Departments Town of Richmond Hill Disclaimer Privacy Text Only