Bookmark and Share


Business | Visitor | Text Only | Contact Us

Home > Town Hall > Departments > Community Services Department
> Recreation & Culture
Print this page Print this page

Richmond Hill Sports Hall of Fame


List of Inductees
  • 1885 Richmond Hill Young Canadians
  • 1967-68 Richmond Hill Lions
  • 1972 Richmond Hill Dynes fastball team
  • 1989 Richmond Hill Raiders Under 18 Girls
  • Douglas Raymond (Doug) Acomb
  • Douglas Kenneth Laird Allen
  • William (Bill) Babcock
  • Elgin  (Tubby) Barrow
  • Nathalie Bendavid
  • Russell Donald (Casey) Cripps
  • Ronald Vernor (Vern) Dynes
  • Bob Emerson
  • Bernard Ford
  • Rene Fournier
  • Marion Fox
  • Candace Jones (Fraser) & Donald Fraser
  • Lynton Friedberg
  • Jim Hoult
  • Edward Kenny
  • Michael & Doreen Kyte
  • George Leary
  • Vanessa Ley
  • Ada Mackenzie (1891-1973)
  • Jean McCron
  • Doug Moore
  • Ted Moritsugu
  • Marian Munroe (Snider)
  • Frank Nigro
  • John (Jack) & John S. Passmore
  • Richard Peirce
  • Ed Sackfield
  • Fred Simpson
  • Elvis Stojko
  • Louis Stong
  • Jane Toporowski
  • Bob Wall
  • Tracy Wilson & Rob McCall
  • Allen Workman
  • Richmond Hill Arena Association

    Related Info
  • Tom Graham Arena Official Opening - April 2005

  •  Richmond Hill Sports Hall of Fame
    The Richmond Hill Sports Hall of Fame was established in 1991 and moved to its current location at Elgin Barrow Arena in September 2014. We invite everyone to drop by and learn more about the history of sport in Richmond Hill. The Richmond Hill Sports Hall of Fame captures and retains the history of local athletes and contributors to sport on the provincial, national and international stages. The Sports Hall of Fame is community driven and honours the achievements of the individuals and teams in Richmond Hill that have attained prominence and distinction in any sport, along with those who have made a major contribution to the development and enhancement of sports in Richmond Hill.
    Celebrate the Class of 2016
    On Thursday, October 6 at 7:30 p.m., Richmond Hill will be celebrating the accomplishments of its newest inductees at the 2016 Induction Ceremony.  There are 7 new athletes and sports builders being inducted into the Sports Hall of Fame this year:

    Athletes Emanuel Sandhu (Figure Skating), and the late Phyllis Rawlinson (Equestrian), and builders David Ross (Trampoline), Marijane Stong (Figure Skating), Joanne McLeod (Figure Skating), Stan Pagonis (Baseball) and Tom Graham (various).

    These athletes and builders join those who have made significant contribution to the development of sport in Richmond Hill, or achieved a high level of success in their sport, including Elvis Stojko, Bob Wall, and arena namesakes Ed Sackfield and Elgin (Tubby) Barrow.

    Tickets are on sale NOW ($20 per person +HST) at the Richmond Hill Centre for the Performing Arts Box Office at or 905-787-8811.
    For more information, contact Anthony Manserra, Recreation Assistant – Sports Hall of Fame at or 905-884-1368, ext. 225.

    Sign up to receive news and updates about the Richmond Hill Sports Hall of Fame.

    Check out these photos from the 2015 Sports Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony! 
    Click on each photo to see the full-size image.

    Check out these photos from the Grand Reopening in September 2014!
    Click on each photo to see the full-size image.

    In the News
  • Sports Hall of Fame re-opens Sept. 19 in new location
  • Sports heroes present at Richmond Hill Hall of Fame re-opening
  • snapd Richmond Hill: Grand Reopening of the Richmond Hill Sport Hall Of Fame
  • Town of Richmond Hill
    Contact Us Departments Disclaimer Privacy Click for more information on the Town's Character Community initiative
    Town of Richmond Hill
    Get Flash Player
    Town of Richmond Hill
    Get Adobe Reader
    Town of Richmond Hill Search by Google Town of Richmond Hill

    Contact Us Departments Town of Richmond Hill Disclaimer Privacy Text Only